Skip to content

IPL 2024: India’s Mega Cricket Event

IPL 2024

The much-anticipated Indian Premier League IPL 2024 is set to commence soon, promising a thrilling season of cricket. Get ready for an explosive blend of sports and entertainment.

Table of Contents

  1. IPL 2024: Kick-off Details #kick-off
  2. Teams Participating in IPL 2024 #participating-teams
  3. IPL 2024: The Format #format
  4. Leaders of the Pack: IPL 2024 Captains #captains
  5. Venues for IPL 2024 #venues
  6. Past IPL Champions: A Look Back #past-champions
  7. Most Expensive Signing of IPL 2024 #expensive-signing
  8. IPL 2024 Prize Money #prize-money
  9. IPL 2024 Schedule #schedule
  10. How and Where to Watch IPL 2024 #watch
  11. IPL 2024: Additional Information #additional-information
  12. Conclusion #conclusion

IPL 2024: Kick-off Details

The IPL 2024 will make a grand start on March 22 with the defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) taking on the formidable Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Chennai. This high-voltage match is expected to set the tone for the rest of the tournament.

Teams Participating in IPL 2024

The IPL initially started as an eight-team tournament in 2008, but over the years, the configuration has changed several times due to suspensions, name changes, and additions. However, IPL 2024 will see the same ten teams that have been part of the league in the last two seasons:

  1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
  2. Delhi Capitals (DC)
  3. Gujarat Titans (GT)
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
  5. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)
  6. Mumbai Indians (MI)
  7. Punjab Kings (PBKS)
  8. Rajasthan Royals (RR)
  9. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  10. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

IPL 2024: The Format

Over the years, the format of the IPL has seen several changes. For the 2024 season, the round-robin format is back. All ten teams will play each other twice. The top two teams at the end of the league games will play the first qualifier, while the third and fourth-placed teams will face off in the eliminator. The winners of the first qualifier secure a spot in the final, while the losers get another shot at qualifying for the final by playing the winner of the eliminator.

Leaders of the Pack: IPL 2024 Captains

The upcoming season has seen some significant changes in leadership across the teams. Here’s a quick rundown of the teams and their respective captains:

  1. Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni
  2. Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant
  3. Gujarat Titans: Shubman Gill
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders: Shreyas Iyer
  5. Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul
  6. Mumbai Indians: Hardik Pandya
  7. Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan
  8. Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson
  9. Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis
  10. Sunrisers Hyderabad: Pat Cummins

Venues for IPL 2024

Each team will play each other twice in a home-and-away format. Although the venues for the qualifiers, eliminator, and final haven’t been confirmed yet, below are the home venues for each team:

  1. MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai – Chennai Super Kings
  2. Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi – Delhi Capitals
  3. Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad – Gujarat Titans
  4. M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru – Royal Challengers Bangalore
  5. Eden Gardens, Kolkata – Kolkata Knight Riders
  6. BRSABV Ekana Stadium, Lucknow – Lucknow Super Giants
  7. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai – Mumbai Indians
  8. Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium, Punjab – Punjab Kings
  9. Swai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur – Rajasthan Royals
  10. Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Past IPL Champions: A Look Back

The IPL has seen several teams lift the coveted trophy since its inception. Here’s a quick look at the past champions:

  1. Chennai Super Kings: 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023
  2. Mumbai Indians: 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
  3. Kolkata Knight Riders: 2012, 2014
  4. Rajasthan Royals: 2008
  5. Sunrisers Hyderabad: 2016
  6. Gujarat Titans: 2022
  7. Deccan Chargers: 2009

Read this: Akshaya Tritiya 2024: Eternal Prosperity and New Beginnings

Most Expensive Signing of IPL 2024

Australia’s Mitchell Starc emerged as the most expensive signing in the history of IPL 2024. Kolkata Knight Riders bought Starc for a whopping $2.98 million, surpassing the previous record held by Pat Cummins, who was bought by Sunrisers Hyderabad for $2.46 million.

IPL 2024 Prize Money

While the official prize money for IPL 2024 hasn’t been confirmed yet, it’s expected to be around $6 million based on previous years. The champions could potentially bag around $2.4 million, with the runners-up receiving approximately $1.56 million.

IPL 2024 Schedule

The schedule for the first 21 matches of IPL 2024 has been released, with further fixtures pending due to the upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Day games will start at 3:30 pm local time, and night games will commence at 7:30 pm local time. The detailed schedule can be found in the IPL 2024 section of this guide.

How and Where to Watch IPL 2024

IPL 2024 matches will be broadcasted on the Star Network TV channels in India. For online viewers, matches will be streamed live on the JioCinema app and its website, available in 12 different languages.

Read this: Holi 2024: Colors of Joy & Unity 🌈

IPL 2024: Additional Information

IPL 2024 promises to be an exciting season for cricket fans. With a blend of seasoned veterans and promising newcomers, the tournament is set to offer a thrilling spectacle. Stay tuned for more updates and information as the tournament progresses.


IPL 2024 is all set to captivate cricket fans worldwide with its blend of nail-biting matches and star-studded teams. Whether you’re a casual viewer or a die-hard cricket fan, IPL 2024 promises to be an unforgettable experience. So, get ready for some high-octane cricket action!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *